Ventura DUI Defense Lawyer

California has very strict drunk driving laws and Ventura County, in particular, has a no tolerance policy for drunk drivers. Contact Charles L Cassy Attorney at Law as soon as possible after your DUI arrest so we can start your defense right away. We have more not guilty verdicts than any other law firm in Ventura County and over thirty years of experience in all criminal matters including DUI.

DUI Alcohol / Drug

  • California Vehicle Codes CVC Section 23152(b) and CVC Section 23152(a) deal with DUI:
  • Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC):  It is unlawful for anyone who has an 0.08% or higher of alcohol in their blood to drive a car.
  • The District Attorney can charge you with CA CVC Section 23152(a) and 23152(b).
  • You are considered "under the influence" if you are observed driving badly, involved in an accident or pulled into a checkpoint and determined as DUI.   CVC Section 23152(a) "under the influence" means your ability to drive safely was impaired so that you were not as cautious or alert as a sober driver in similar circumstances.
  • A police officer must have "probable cause" to pull you over, meaning you were observed violating the Vehicle Code.
  • The "implied consent" law:  if arrested for DUI you must submit to a chemical test of your blood or breath.  You can choose whether a breath test or blood test is done.
  • You can refuse to blow into a Portable Alcohol Screening device at the time you are pulled over.  You do not need to submit to the PAS screening unless you are under 21.
  • You will probably be asked to submit to the FSTs or Field Sobriety Tests when pulled over.  You can refuse to submit to the FSTs.
  • A conviction of DUI is "priorable" for 10 years from the date of the offense not the date of the conviction.
  • You  may be booked into jail with a bail amount set or you may get a "cite and release".  With a "cite and release" you sign the ticket and make a "promise to appear" at a later court date.
  • You must contact the DMV within 10 days of your arrest to schedule a DMV hearing.  This is critical! Not to do so will mean you waive your right to a DMV hearing and there will be the automatic suspension of your license 30 days after your DUI arrest.  Contact  Charles L Cassy Attorney at Law immediately after your arrest.

Retain Charles L Cassy Attorney at Law because Experience Matters

Contact Charles L Cassy Attorney at Law immediately upon being investigated or charged with any DUI charge. We have over thirty years experience in defending these cases. We will put our expertise to work for you.

Charles L Cassy Attorney at Law

Has More Not Guilty Verdicts Than Any Other Law Firm in Ventura County.

Charles L Cassy Attorney at Law

Serves Ventura, Los Angeles, Santa Barbara, Kern, San Diego Counties.

Call us at 805-642-0392